Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center - Houston, Texas

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My HealtheVet badge
EBenefits Badge

Houston VA Selected for Chief Resident Quality and Safety Program

December 20, 2012

The Department of Veterans Affairs Office of Academic Affairs has approved the addition of two chief residents to focus on quality and safety at the Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center in the coming academic year.

“These two physicians will work to make the DeBakey VA a safer place for our Veterans,” said Barbara Trautner, M.D., Ph.D., Medical Care Line associate chief and associate professor of Medicine – Infectious Disease at Baylor College of Medicine. “They will teach safety principles to students and health care providers alike, both in the classroom and through hands-on involvement in quality improvement projects. They will also tackle safety issues from a systems-based approach.”

The purpose of VA’s Chief Resident Quality and Safety Program is to improve care for Veterans by redesigning medical education and patient care to include the areas of quality and patient safety.  Only VA medical centers that show commitment to continuous improvement in education and clinical care as evidenced by a strong accreditation history and an established track record of innovation in the clinical learning environment are selected for this program.

For academic year 2013-2014, the Chief Resident Quality and Safety Program leaders are Jennifer Cowart, M.D., a former Baylor College of Medicine resident in medicine and a current VA clinical pharmacology fellow, and Molly Horstman, M.D., a current chief resident in internal medicine at the University of Michigan.