Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center - Houston, Texas

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My HealtheVet badge
EBenefits Badge

Houston VA Docs Recognized by Baylor College of Medicine for Excellence in Education

April 17, 2009

HOUSTON – On April 16, 2009, Baylor College of Medicine selected its outstanding educators for 2008. These faculty members included five physicians from the Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center (MEDVAMC).

Neena Abraham, M.D., Research Care Line gastroenterologist staff physician; Kimberly Arlinghaus, M.D., Mental Health deputy executive; Joseph Huh, M.D., Cardiothoracic Surgery chief; and Barbara Trautner, M.D., Medical Care Line staff physician were honored with the Fulbright & Jaworski L.L.P. Faculty Excellence Award for outstanding work in a teaching and evaluation.

Prasad Atluri, M.D., staff anesthesiologist received the Fulbright & Jaworski L.L.P. Faculty Excellence Award in the educational leadership category.

For more than 50 years, the MEDVAMC has provided clinical training for health care professionals through our major affiliate, Baylor College of Medicine. MEDVAMC now operates the largest VA residency program with 251.2 slots. Each academic year, more than 1,972 students are trained through 144 affiliation agreements with institutions of higher learning in 19 states. Health care students from fields such as nursing, dietetics, social work, physical therapy, and a wide variety of medical specialties receive training here each year. This responsibility serves to enhance the quality of care provided to our Veterans. As a member institution of the Texas Medical Center (TMC) since 1985, the MEDVAMC staff serves on various TMC oversight committees that contribute to improved patient care and hospital operations. The vast majority of MEDVAMC physicians are also faculty members of Baylor College of Medicine.

# # #