Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center - Houston, Texas

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My HealtheVet badge
EBenefits Badge

Houston VA Docs Recognized by Baylor College of Medicine

June 2, 2011

Recently, Baylor College of Medicine selected its outstanding educators for 2011. These faculty members included eight physicians from the Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center (MEDVAMC).  

George E. Taffet, M.D., a staff physician in the Extended Care Line, was honored with the Barbara and Corbin J. Robertson Jr. Presidential Award for Excellence in Education Presidential Award for Excellence. Established in 1999, the Robertson award recognizes faculty members who have made long-standing, consistent, and highly valued contributions to the educational mission of the College.
DeBakey VA staff who received the Fulbright & Jaworski L.L.P. Faculty Excellence Award for outstanding teaching in a specialty area included Bernard S. K. Ng, M.B.B.S., a staff rheumatologist and allergist, for outstanding teaching and evaluation; Taffet for educational leadership; Ursula Braun, M.D., a staff physician in the Extended Care Line; for educational research; and Robert S. Tan, M.D., a staff physician in the Extended Care Line, for enduring educational materials.
The 2011 Graduating Class Outstanding Faculty Award went to Richard J. Hamill, M.D., a staff physician in the Infectious Diseases Section.

For more than 50 years, the MEDVAMC has provided clinical training for health care professionals through our major affiliate, Baylor College of Medicine. MEDVAMC now operates the largest VA residency program with 259 slots. Each academic year, more than 2,150 students are trained through 182 affiliation agreements with institutions of higher learning. Health care students from fields such as nursing, dietetics, social work, physical therapy, and a wide variety of medical specialties receive training here each year. The vast majority of MEDVAMC physicians are also faculty members of Baylor College of Medicine.

#  #  #

Awarded re-designation for Magnet Recognition for Excellence in Nursing Services in 2008, the Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center serves as the primary health care provider for more than 120,000 veterans in southeast Texas. Veterans from around the country are referred to the MEDVAMC for specialized diagnostic care, radiation therapy, surgery, and medical treatment including cardiovascular surgery, gastrointestinal endoscopy, nuclear medicine, ophthalmology, and treatment of spinal cord injury and diseases. The MEDVAMC is home to a Post Traumatic Stress Disorder Clinic; Network Polytrauma Center; an award-winning Cardiac and General Surgery Program; Liver Transplant Center; VA Epilepsy and Cancer Centers of Excellence; VA Substance Abuse Disorder Quality Enhancement Research Initiative; Health Services Research & Development Center of Excellence; VA Rehabilitation Research of Excellence focusing on mild to moderate traumatic brain injury; Mental Illness Research, Education and Clinical Center; and one of the VA’s six Parkinson’s Disease Research, Education, and Clinical Centers. Including the outpatient clinics in Beaumont, Conroe, Galveston, Houston, Lufkin, and Richmond, MEDVAMC outpatient clinics logged more than one million outpatient visits in fiscal year 2010. For the latest news releases and information about the MEDVAMC, visit