Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center - Houston, Texas

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My HealtheVet badge
EBenefits Badge

"Best Doctors" in the Nation

Best Doctors in America® List - Only 5% of the doctors in the country are selected.

Sanjay J. Mathew, M.D.
 Listed as one of the best doctors in the nation in the field of psychiatry, Sanjay J. Mathew, M.D. is a staff physician in the Mental Health Care Line at the Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center. He is also an associate professor at Baylor College of Medicine where he received his medical degree. Mathew completed his residency and a post-doctoral fellowship in affective and anxiety disorders at Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons/New York State Psychiatric Institute. A Diplomate with the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, his specialties include treatment of resistant depression and anxiety, and Biomarker research. Mathew has many honors and achievements including Hilde Bruch Medical Student Excellence Award, Baylor College of Medicine, 1997; Columbia University House Staff Research Award, 1998; American Psychiatric Association/Lilly Resident Research Award, 2001; Anxiety Disorders Association of America Trainee Travel Award, 2001; Arnold P. Gold Foundation Outstanding Resident Teaching Award, 2001; Distinguished Laughlin Fellow, Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons, 2001; Columbia University Alumni Association Outstanding Teaching Award, 2001; American Psychiatric Association Colloquium for Young Investigators, 2001; American College of Neuropsychopharmacology Memorial Travel Award, 2003; NARSAD Young Investigator Award, 2001 and 2006; American Foundation for Suicide Prevention Pfizer Travel Award, 2007; Dr. Harold and Golden Lamport Research Award, Mount Sinai School of Medicine, 2007; Excellence in Psychiatry Education Award, Mount Sinai Dept. of Psychiatry, 2008; Associate Member (Elected), American College of Neuropsychopharmacology, 2009; and NARSAD Independent Investigator Award, 2009.